>> Bio's >> Ilja Erche

Ilja Erche - Joined in Mongolia


Date of Birth:

11th December 1968


Neu-Ulm, Bavaria (Germany)


Konstanz (Germany)


Project Manager, Rowing Coach


Born near lake Constance, but my parents moved finally to Ulm, when I was 10. There I visited high school and had some semesters of computer science at the university. But I preferred to work as a paramedic for some years and started then again working with these computers in a small company. In 1996 I founded my own small

  company (25 people) which I left in 2001. After year in a design company I work as a free technology consultant in a project enabling high speed communication to moving trains.


 Rowing, Motorcycling, Sailing

Favorite Gadgets:

1. My iPod, 2. GPS, 3. …….

Travel History:

20 countries, (not too difficult in Europe), last year north cape via the three Baltic states on my brand new F650


Made my license in 2000, when my car dealer (Audi-Zentrum Ulm and Held und Ströhle) was not able to fix my new Audi the third time. My first bike was a BMW 1100 GS which made me interested in long trips. Because I use the bike often for business purpose, in 2001 I bought my first R1100S, which brings me a little bit faster from place to place. Today I have my second R1100S and a F650GS Dakar, I bought for the trip to the north cape last summer. I made some modifications to the F650, comparable to the TT39 from Touratech.


     [Click to View]  

Gobi Phone Call Priests and GPS's The Joy of Digital
Broken Clutch Wild Yonders Laike Baikal
Fjording Road Flotsum Joy of Russian Roads